Jimbo Mathus

Jimmy The Kid

1. Good Old Time
2. Fallen Angel
3. Jimmy The Kid
4. Tenn. Walker Mare
5. Whispering In The Wings
6. Tell It To The Judge
7. Little Hand, Big Gun
8. Check Out Time
9. I’m Done
10. Mystery
11. Hiway At Night

Catalog #: BLM0295

Format: CD


Album Info


“Jimmy the Kid by Jimbo Mathus ” was recorded at Jimbo’s Delta Recording Service in Como Ms in 2006-2007. It signalled a departure from the more bluesy recordings Mr Mathus had been releasing since disbanding Squirrrel Nut Zippers and doing a four year stint with blues patriarch Buddy Guy.
“I was seeking to put more honky tonk and country harmony singing in my music”, says Mathus. The recording involved a rotating cast of characters from the Memphis and North Mississippi as well as future members of Mathus’s current Fat Possum Records based Tri State Coalition . The recording includes some of Mathus’s best songwriting and some true honk tonk gems like “check out time”, and “Highway at Night” as well as some good old redneck rock and roll.
The recording and original artwork by Mathus has been unearthed and properly released now by Big Legal Mess . God bless Mississippi and pass the antiseptic.