The Devil Don't Like It

The Devil Don't Like It

Dedicated Men of Zion



Dedicated Men of Zion (DMZ) – the sacred soul quartet from eastern North Carolina who are all related to one another by blood or marriage – has come a long way since the release of 2020’s ‘Can’t Turn Me Around’ on producer Bruce Watson’s Bible & Tire Recording Co. label. They have performed at globalFEST, Telluride Blues & Brews, and Fresh Grass festivals. They have earned the acclaim of Brooklyn Vegan, NPR Music, and The New York Times. They scored placements on best of 2020 lists from NPR Music and the Philadelphia Inquirer.


With Bruce Watson of Fat Possum at the helm, they have surpassed their debut with The Devil Don’t Like It, out March 4 on Bible & Tire Recording Co.  The Memphis-based Sacred Soul Sound Section provided the supple but sinewy grooves, featuring GRAMMY winner Matt Ross-Spang on guitar (Jason Isbell, Margo Price, John Prine), drummer George Sluppick (Rufus Thomas, Albert King, J.J. Grey & Mofro, Chris Robinson Brotherhood), guitarist Will Sexton (Alejandro Escovedo, Roky Erickson), bassist Mark Edgar Stuart (Elizabeth King, Alvin Youngblood Hart), and organist Al Gamble (St. Paul & The Broken Bones).

The Dedicated Men of Zion:

Anthony Daniels

Antwan Daniels

Marcus Sugg

Dexter Weaver

The Sacred Soul Sound Section

Will Sexton – Guitar

Matt Ross-Spang – Guitar

Mark Edgar Stuart – Bass

George Sluppick – Drums and Percussion

Al Gamble – Organ